Home | Alexander Order | Coats-of-Arms | Articles | Latest News |

Art Gallery | Spiritual Corner


Artist of the Year 2003 is Birgit Sewekow

Grand exhibition at Museum of European Art



"Artist of the Year 2003" Birgit Sewekow with the German President Johannes Rau and his wife.

Photograph Copyright Marco-VG, Bonn


Berlin/New York (bpb) The 'Artist of the Year 2003' is the German painter Birgit Sewekow. The European Art Foundation (EAF) Berlin and the US-Museum of European Art Clarence/New York have proclaimed this in honor of her works of art . She will be honored with an exhibition at the Museum of European Art at Noervenich Castle in Germany, said Consul B. John Zavrel, the EAF sp[okesman for international affairs.

"Both organizations support artists of our time by promoting them and by making exhibitions of their works", says EAF President John Gilbert Bodenstein. "This transatlantic cooperation is also used to strengthen the bilateral relations between USA and the countries of the European Union."

For 2004, the painter Salvador Dali and other artists are nominated for "Artist of the Year", Zavrel said. We expect Dali will be the winner, since in that year his 100th birthday will be celebrated. But the committee members are free to decide to whom this honor should be awarded.

In 2002, the sculptor Kurt Arentz was EAF 'Artist of the Year'. On the list of the Europaeische Kultur Stiftung in the past years we find Leonor Fini, Marc Chagall, Helga Tiemann, Yrsa von Leistner, Renate Stendar-Feuerbaum, Hugo Haig-Thomas, Ernst Fuchs, Jan Künster, Jean Cocteau, Arno Breker, Aristide Maillol, Charles Despiau, Georg Kolbe, Ernst Barlach and Käthe Kollwitz (www.europaeische-kultur-stiftung.org).


Copyright 2002 West-Art, Prometheus 85/2002


 Keep informed - join our newsletter:

Subscribe to EuropeanArt

Powered by www.egroups.com


Copyright 2002 West-Art

PROMETHEUS, Internet Bulletin for Art, Politics and Science.

Nr. 85, Winter 2002